Overall game design from YOUR perspective

The land-based version of Allegiance, under construction.
finnbryant

Post by finnbryant »

i just want to know what different people imagine the game being like. Dont explain a complex tech path here, theres already a thread for that.

heres mine(dont attempt to compromise when making yours, im only posting this because i get the feeling everyone expects a different game and we need to work out what it will actually be like:

sectors: big spherical domes, im not good at distance estimations, but 2-3 km diameter? sectors should have enough room that you cant just enter the sector and immediately know whats in there.
The terrain of sectors would be "painted" by the map maker, the game would procedurally finish it by adding the trees to the forest, adding sand dunes or rocks and making mountains jagged and rocky. the maker would be able to move terrain up and down too. (this isnt as hard as it might seem, in panda3d ive got a procedural forest generator someone had made as an example, its not impossible to get your head around) the reason for this is that we dont have enough people to make that many maps, and if we want maps with interesting terrain that actually affect gameplay, we need it to be detailed. after the generator has done its work, the map maker could add the interesting features like ancient alien buildings or huge skeletons or w/e.

buildings: true size (another reason for large sectors) since they would have to have seemless entry (no loading screen to enter a base)

economy: i honestly don't know, helium hotspots? C&C like mining trucks?

movement: since sectors would be large, infantry movement would be tricky, so i think a lot of fast open topped and weaponless wehicles could be allowed for infantry. (of course, giga could have a stylish range of hoverboards!)

weapons: troops would have a limited capacity for weapons, thats the alleg way. maybe a mximum of 2 large and 1 small weapon, 5 auxillary slots?