All Mouth, No Trousers

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Trip Down Memory Lane

Posted by SouthPaw, Nov 27 2009, 04:49 PM in Other

First thing's first; Yes it has been ages since I blogged anything.

In my defence, I have been working really very hard this year to a) keep my job and b) keep the jobs of everyone who works for me.

Also, planning a wedding takes a lot more of one's thought than I had properly appreciated.

There is more fan-fic in the works (or my mind at least) and it will work its way out here soon enough.

The cause for this post is due to one of my colleagues. He saw me looking at FAO at wrok and said: "What is this 'Allegiance' that you are always looking at?"

"It's a game I play." I replied. He said "I never really had you down as a gamer..."

This kind of surprised me. I stopped to think about it and I have been playing online games as a form of entertainment for over 12 years now. That's a pretty long time. In all of those years I have had passionate love affairs with three games. Here they are:

ARC

1997. I am at the University of Warwick studying my undergraduate degree. I am the only guy in my student house to have his own computer (can you IMAGINE that now kids?). We get hooked up to teh intarwebz via my computer and I stumble upon TEN/WON free games including Attack Retrieve Capture (ARC). A very simple team-based shooter that had surprising depth and seemed like magic to a guy who had grown up on Amstrad CPC464 cassette loading games.

You move a little flying saucer across a map, shooting lasers and three types of special weapons at other players in a CTF based game that requires quite a high degree of skill and thought. This game was a cult hit and I loved it. I was never much good, but spent many many happy hours fragging away.